MISRA Discussion Forums

Full Version: MISRA Rules Ambiguity
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
My name is Igor Gvero and I am a Product Manager/Owner at Klocwork. Our developers had few questions with respect to ambiguity of some rules. Questions are below.
NOTE: THESE ARE NOT SECTION 6 INQUIRIES - SO I AM POSTING THE QUESTIONS HERE

1. Concerning the Rule 5-0-15 of the MISRA C++ 2008 standard, is the following example compliant with the rule?

struct Bar
{
int32_t* dataP[2];
};

void f()
{
int32_t myarray[10];
Bar b;
b.dataP[0] = myarray;
b.dataP[1] = myarray;

int32_t c = (b.dataP[1])[3]; // Is this expression compliant with the rule 5-0-15?
}

The reason that I am asking this question is that the examples for the rule 5-0-15 seem to be contradictory about the use of pointers as arrays. For example, the following are examples from the documentation of the rule 5-0-15:

void my_fn(uint8_t * p1, uint8_t * p2[ ])
{
p1[ 5 ] = 0; // Non-compliant – p1 was not declared as array
}

uint8_t a[ 10 ];
uint8_t * p;
p = a;
p[ 5 ] = 0; // Compliant : seems to be contradictory with the previous example where it is non-compliant.

I would appreciate if you could explain the exact rule for the use of pointers as arrays in your answer.

2. Concerning the Rule 2-10-2 of the MISRA C++ 2008 standard, is operator overloading allowed for this rule? I think it should be allowed, but I would like to be sure. The rule discuss about identifiers. An operator name should not be an identifier, thus operator overloading should be allowed, but it is not clear from the rule. For example, is the following example compliant with the rule?

#include
#include

namespace myNamespace {
class myClass {
public:
static void* operator new(size_t); // Is this operator overloading compliant with rule 2-10-2?
};
}